Council of Europe

modification date 02 June 2017

Council of Europe
Founded on 5 May 1949 by 10 countries, the Council of Europe seeks to develop common democratic principles in the Member States, based on the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms and other documents dealing with the protection of individual rights. Seat of the Council is Strasbourg, at present Council of Europe associates 47 member countries.


The Committee of Experts on the evaluation methods of money laundering and terrorist financing - MONEYVAL (formerly PC-R-EV) was established in 1997. Currently has 28 permanent and 2 temporary members. The purpose of this committee is to ensure that its Member States have effective systems secures for money laundering and terrorist financing, consistent with relevant international standards in this area.

Polish Financial Supervisory Authority participates in the work of the Committee through the participation of their representatives in the plenary meetings and typological meetings. PFSA has two employees on the list of evaluators of the Committee.